Film descriptions

Here are some descriptions on the films in my fridge, from left to right in the photo below.

Kodak Portra 160 NC – this is a medium speed (ISO 160) colour print film which has neutral colours (NC).  This and the Portra name means it is best for skin tones, so wedding photographers use it a lot.  If you use saturated colours at a wedding people’s faces can look overly red and wedding dresses tend to bleach out, which can result in a loss of detail.  A neutral film is muted ans so gives produces more faithful colours.

Fuji Velvia 50 – this is a slow speed (ISO 50) very fine grain slide film with strong, saturated colours.  It is the professionals choice for landscape photography.  If you have an old slide projector, or even a light box somewhere then treat yourself to a roll.

Kodak TMAX 100 – this is also a modern fine grain, medium speed (ISO 100) black and white film.  I have some great enlargements from this film, it’s one of my favourites.  One to develop yourself.

Fuji Reala 160s – another professional colour portrait film, this is Fuji’s equivalent of Kodak Portra NC.

Ilford XP2 – a high speed (ISO 400) chromogenic black and white print film.  Chromogenic means that this film can be developed in colour chemicals, so just take a 35 mm roll to your local lab, pay the normal colour price and get 36 black and white prints.  Easy!

Ilford FP4 this is a traditional fine grain, medium speed (ISO 125)  film that is a great place to start if you want to try and develop your own black and white film.

Ilford PanF – this is a very fine grain slow speed (ISO 50) film that I’ve never tried before.  I plan to put it into a 1950’s era Agfa medium format camera I’ve got.  I’ll develop it myself.

Kodak Tri-X – this is a fast film (ISO 400) that is a favourite among some professional photographers because of its grain.  I’ve never tried it before, but I have a 35 mm roll in my camera now.  Again, I’ll develop this myself.

Fuji Neopan Acros 100 – another fine grain medium speed (ISO 100) film but this time from Fuji.  Never tried it before.

Kodak BW400CN – a high speed (ISO 400) chromogenic film that can also be developed in colour chemicals.  Kodak’s alternative to Ilford XP2.

So there we are, loads of different films to try, and I only have a fraction of what is available.  Choose depending on ISO, whether you want colour or black and white, prints or slides, develop yourself or not.  It’s like having a choice of dozens of different sensors in your digital camera 🙂

About photovalve

I am a keen amateur photographer and this is my space on the web to talk about my explorations through the world of photography, both film and digital.
This entry was posted in Film Photography, Photo Tutorial, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

