In Praise of Old Cameras

As well as being slower to use film cameras were also a lot simpler, no menus, very few options, and sometimes a proper f-stop ring!

I started out on a completely manual Carena RSD Micro. Here it is:

It cost me £45 second hand in about 1982. You had to set the f-stop and shutter speed until a small needle in the viewfinder neatly bisected a circle. It worked fine but could be a bit slow; I often missed that once in a lifetime shot! Having said that it served me well and I took it and a couple of lenses around Europe once and I still have the prints to prove it. Here’s one of Michelangelo’s David. It was a colour print but I converted it to black and white as it looks better.

About photovalve

I am a keen amateur photographer and this is my space on the web to talk about my explorations through the world of photography, both film and digital.
This entry was posted in Film Photography, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Praise of Old Cameras

  1. My dad just sent me his old 1972 Canon EXEE. I’m excited to get it cleaned up and try it out. I remember always wanting to get my hands on it when I was a kid. Cool blog by the way Mr. M! 🙂

Leave a Reply

